Ask an Expert
January 20, 2024

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Florida in 2024?

Share This Content

Steadily's blog cover page for information around landlord insurance.

In the United States, every state defines its laws and regulations. Every state has its rent regulations formulated in accordance with subsets of apartments. The idea is to monitor affordable housing and keep people from going homeless and broke.

However, Florida has no rent stabilization or rent control laws. There is a state ban on rent control, governed by FL Stat. § 125.0103. This enables landlords to set rent and increase it across the state, given that they provide proper notice. Getting rental property insurance in Florida can help protect your property.

On the other hand, the landlord can increase the rent with certain discretions, as much as they wish, and whenever they want. So, let's find out:

What do these terms mean?

What are the exceptions?

What are the limitations?

These questions will help us understand the rights of both tenants and landlords in Florida.

What is Rent Control?

Rent control, or rent regulation, usually refers to laws and ordinances limiting how much a landlord can increase rent in a given period and set conditions for when and how much they can raise rents. Such regulations are set to make housing affordable by imposing price controls. There are generally two types of rent regulation :

1. Eviction control        

2. Price control

Both require landlords to limit their rates for tenants based on factors such as salaries and inflation. Eviction controls specify criteria under which tenants cannot be evicted, whereas price controls define how landlords can increase rent. Controlling the eviction rates is often difficult due to constant changes in housing markets; therefore, wage-related regulations are more common.

Rent control is more common in cities where competition for limited housing stock raises market-rate prices out of reach for these residents.

According to the National Multifamily Housing Council’s website, rent control is not applicable in all United States.

For example, some states have neither rent control nor premonitions, including the following: Montana, Wyoming, Nebraska, Ohio, Maine, Hawaii, Delaware, Alaska, Nevada, Virginia, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania.

Related reading: What Needs to be Included in a 30-Day Notice to Vacate Letter

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Florida?

A landlord can raise rent in Florida upon the termination of a lease period. For a year-long lease, a landlord must provide you with 60-days notice in writing. For tenants on a week-to-week lease that can be as little as 7-days notice.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Florida?

Unfortunately, Florida has no law control or rent stabilization laws like in other states. Hence the state fails to regulate or intervene on how much a landlord can raise the rent in Florida. According to the Apartment List National Rent Report rents in key cities in Florida have gone up over the past 6 and 12 months. Orlando, for example, saw a 20% rent increase over the past 12 months, and Tampa saw a 44% rent increase since March 2020. A Redfin Data Report suggests the Miami rent increase could be as high as 34% year over year.

In short - The state of Florida does not provide a limit to rent increases.  The median Fair Market Rent in Florida is $1,299 for a 2-bedroom home in 2023.

Source: HUD Fair Market Rents Documentation System FY 2023

How Can You Have Fixed Rent in Florida?

Only a fixed-term lease can bind the landlord not to raise the rent until the lease ends. After the lease ends, the landlord can raise however they want when renewing the lease.Also, in a month-to-month lease, the landlord can raise the rent any time after producing a notice one month prior.So, if you are looking to have a fixed rent, you can talk to the landlord when signing the lease. That would give you the edge to have the same rent for the term of the lease.

When Can an Increase in Rent Become Illegal?

Certain situations classify the rent hike as illegal in the state of Florida. Those are:

1. Discrimination;

2. Increasing before the end of the lease; and,

3. The act of retaliation.

In Florida, every landlord must follow the Federal Fair Housing Act that states a landlord may not increase rent based on the age, race, religion, nation of origin, familial status, sexual orientation, military status, or disability status of the tenant.

Correspondingly goes for the case of lease. When signing the lease for a year, the tenant and landlord agree on the rent. The lease document indicates that the rent will remain the same until the end of the lease term. In this scenario, the landlord has to wait for the lease term to end and cannot increase the rent.If a tenant exercises their legal right, which doesn't sit well with the landlord, and a rent hike comes as a response or retaliation, it is termed illegal. The legal rights include:

By making a complaint to any governmental agency regarding certain conditions in the building. Such as health inspectors, building inspectors, fire departments, or any other regulatory body for lousy living conditions.

By joining any tenant union. Suppose the landlord is uncomfortable with the tenant joining any union and retaliates against it. However, it is the legal right of the tenant to join any tenant union.

Use rent money to fix any defects in the rental unit. The tenant can use the rent money for these fixes when the landlord has failed to comply with the fixes, resulting in terrible living conditions, health hazards, or safety hazards.

Related reading: How Much Can I Rent My House For?

Is There a Certain Limit to Rent Increment?

Again, no! The landlord can increase the rent as much as they intend to. However, this can cause a loss of income in the future.If tenants find the rent unreasonable, they are likely to move out when they find something within the budget. However, since the rent is high, conflicting with the space and location, there are chances to have new tenants any time soon.

When the old tenants leave, it's a loss of income for the landlord. That's because the property will stay vacant until someone comes along and agrees to the hiked rents.

The Rent Increase Notice

A majority of jurisdictions require landlords to send an official rent increase notice to raise the price of rental units. This notification must detail the new price, as well as when it takes effect. In Florida, the amount of time that must be given depends on:

1. The property type        

2. Lease type        

3. Rent increase

Rent Increase Limits for Government-Subsidized Housing

In Florida, while there are no general caps on rent increases for most properties, this is different for government-subsidized housing. Landlords managing these properties must adhere to specific rules and regulations set by the government program under which the housing operates. This includes Section 8 housing, where rent increases are closely monitored and must align with the fair market rent standards set by HUD. Tenants in such properties should be aware of these protections and the procedures for addressing grievances related to rent increases.

Legal Recourse for Tenants Facing Unjust Rent Increases

Tenants in Florida who believe their rent increase is discriminatory, retaliatory, or otherwise illegal have several avenues for recourse. They can file a complaint with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services or seek mediation or legal action. It's crucial for tenants to document all communications with their landlords regarding rent increases and the conditions of their rental property.

Although Florida legislation does not provide specific notification information for landlords increasing rental rates, it is expected that these notices correspond with termination notices. For cases where there is no formal lease, landlords should provide a minimum of 7 days' notice for tenants on a week-to-week arrangement. For month-to-month, this extends to a 15-day notice. For tenants renting quarter-to-quarter, this extends to a 30 day notice. Lastly, for annual leases, the notice is 60 days.Because local laws may differ, landlords should be aware of the county or city’s landlord-tenant regulations and the other state’s rules to comply.

Get coverage in minutes.
No hidden cancellation fees. Competitive rates nationwide.
    Thank you! Your submission has been received!
    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

    This post is for informational purposes only and does not serve as legal, financial, or tax advice. Consult your own legal, financial, or tax advisor for matters mentioned here. Steadily is not liable for any actions taken based on this information. If you believe any of this information may be inaccurate please contact us.

    Download your free resource

    Table of Contents

    Get coverage in minutes

    One of America's best-rated landlord insurance services. No hidden cancellation fees. Competitive rates nationwide.

    Get a quote
    Get Appointed

    Delight your clients with one of America's best-rated landlord insurance services nationwide.

    Apply Today

    Get coverage in minutes

    No hidden cancellation fees. Competitive rates nationwide.

      Thank you! Your submission has been received!
      Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

      Get Appointed

      Become a Steadily appointed agent and start selling one of America's best-rated landlord insurance services.